How Does the Statute of Limitations Work in an Arizona Personal Injury Case?
How does the statute of limitations work in an Arizona personal injury case? It’s one of the most important question for all kind of people in Arizona; Specially who’re related to personal injury law case.
For most personal injury cases in Arizona, the statute of limitations is two years. Yet what does that mean? When does the clock stop and start? What are some of the special exceptions to the statute?
More importantly, what does that mean for the timing of steps you should take after your accident?
The statute of limitations on most personal injury cases is two years.
If you wait more than two years from the date of the accident you won’t be able to file a lawsuit. Without a lawsuit, the insurance company loses any incentive to pay your claim and may just refuse to do anything about it altogether.
This is why the insurance company will try to convince you to go without an attorney for as long as possible, even as they attempt to wear you down, wear you out, take advantage of your accident-caused financial crunch, and stall you with endless requests for more paperwork and information.
They’re hoping you’ll wait too long to hire an attorney. They’re hoping enough time will pass for key witnesses to disappear and key pieces of evidence to go away.
Certain exceptions to the statutes exist.
If you’re bringing your claim against a public employee or entity then you only have 180 days to file. The claim even has to include a proposed settlement offer even before any formal, face-to-face negotiations begin. When suing the state or an Arizona city, it’s vital that you work with an attorney who can write out the facts of the case in a highly articulate and organized manner.
If you were injured as a child, you have a little bit longer. You have 2 years after you turn 18, even if the injury occurred when you were very young. Most of the time parents bring injury claims on a child’s behalf while they are still minors, but there are exceptions, and it’s important to understand what those exceptions are.
Insurance companies often try to stall in the hopes that you’ll run out of time.
It’s hard to overstate or overstress the kinds of tricks insurance companies will play before you hire an attorney who can make them take you seriously. Nothing would please them more than for you to play their games until the clock runs out.
The clock stops when you file a lawsuit.
There’s really no drawback to filing your case early. Your court date won’t be for months, and the court wants you to engage in settlement conferences anyway. Having the suit formalized gives us the power to gather evidence, lights a fire under the insurance companies, and inspires them to take you seriously.
Remember, you can settle your case right up until a jury returns with a verdict. Filing your lawsuit doesn’t prevent settlement. In many times, it speeds it along.
Involve an attorney as early as you can. Try to do it less than a week after your accident, when all the evidence and your recollection of events is still fresh. You won’t be cheating yourself out of any options by doing so. You’ll expand them because you’ll be giving your attorney plenty of time to build the strongest possible case.
How does the statute of limitations work in an Arizona personal injury case – now I think you have no doubt on this topic. So, if you need a personal injury attorney right now? Contact us today for a no-obligation case consultation.