Personal Injury Claims For Uber and Lyft Passengers in Arizona

Uber and Lyft are convenient ways to travel, but even when you’re not driving there’s a chance you’ll get into an accident. When you’re a passenger you are definitely the victim of someone else’s negligence, which means you’ll definitely have a personal injury case. Are there special considerations you need to be aware of? Learn more from this post about personal injury claims for uber and Lyft passengers. Or if you need immediate consultation from an expert then don’t hesitate to contact Tony Merchant.

Here’s what you need to know.

If the driver was at fault…

Arizona law requires rideshare drivers to carry commercial motor vehicle insurance in the amount of $250,000 per incident, as well as commercial uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $250,000 per incident before they are allowed to drive. 

If your driver was not carrying the proper insurance the claim may often be passed on to Uber and Lyft itself. Uber carries a $1 million liability policy to cover claims like yours. In this state, they are no longer allowed to use “the driver is an independent contractor” as an excuse to avoid paying claims.

If another vehicle was at-fault…

You will file a claim against the driver who was responsible. Yet if the other driver did not have insurance, or is underinsured to the point where they are unable to cover your claim, again, Uber and Lyft’s own liability policy should pay your claim.

Uber and Lyft’s policies will only kick in when the other driver’s insurance coverage has been exhausted.

What To Do After the Accident

You’ll take the same steps after your accident as you’d take if you were driving yourself normally.

This means you’re going to remain at the scene of the accident and get the police on-site. Get copies of both insurance policies: your driver’s, and the other driver’s. Get a copy of the police report. Take names and numbers of all witnesses.

Take pictures. As many pictures as possible. Take more than you think you need! This is vital evidence. 

Finally, get medical attention immediately. Follow all of your medical provider’s instructions. Go in for follow-up attention if new symptoms or complications present themselves. You want to be able to draw a clear chain of cause from the accident to the injuries that you’veve suffered.

Call a Personal Injury Lawyer

The faster you involve a personal injury lawyer the more likely you are to recover compensation after your accident. Having an attorney handle insurance adjusters and rideshare representatives right off the bat can also ensure that you don’t say or do anything which might complicate your case while removing stress from your life. This means you can focus on healing from your injuries. 

If you need help after an Uber or Lyft accident, don’t hesitate to reach out. Tony Merchant has over 30 years of experience with all kinds of car accident cases. He has helped people all over Arizona get the justice they deserve.